Skip to main content Skip to navigation
WSU Libraries The Libraries

Fines for overdue, damaged, or lost items

In accordance with Washington Administrative Code 504-41-055, all material checked out from the WSU Libraries is subject to fines and fees if late, lost, or damaged, up to and including replacement costs and service charges.

Fill out the Library Fines Questions Form with any questions about fines you may currently have on your library or MyWSU account. We will investigate the issue and get back to you.

Type of Loan Fine Per Day Maximum Fine Per Item Replacement Fee
6 Week or Semester Books (Includes non-media Summit and Interlibrary Loans) $0.50 $10.00 $100 ($200 for Interlibrary Loan)
14 Day Juvenile Books $0.50 $10.00 $20
1, 3, and 7-Day Reserve Material $2.00 $20.00 $100
6 Day Media and Journals $2.00 $20.00 $300
2 Hour Reserve $2.00 per Hour $20.00 $100
4 Hour Laptops and Chargers $5.00 per Hour $20.00 $500 or more

For miscellaneous items, such as equipment, markers, etc., fines and other charges vary.

When the maximum fine is reached, a bill is sent adding a $15.00 service charge and the replacement fee.

Please direct your questions to Library Fines Questions Form


WSU Libraries, PO Box 645610, Washington State University, Pullman WA 99164-5610, 509-335-9671
Link to LibGuides GovDocs A Federal Depository Library | Contact Us | Website Feedback