Databases

Ownbey Herbarium (WSU)

The Marion Ownbey Herbarium houses a collection of over 350,000 vascular and non-vascular plants. Access by appointment.

Oxford American Dictionary of Current English [Full Text]

This dictionary offers superb coverage of American English. Its features include thousands of concise definitions and entries, plus grammar, style, and usage notes that give guidance on correct English.

Oxford American Thesaurus of Current English [Full Text]

This thesaurus is based on state-of-the-art research conducted by Oxford's U.S. dictionary staff using a vast database of some 200 million words. It has more than 15,000 main entries keyed to over 350,000 synonyms, with accompanying example sentences and phrases.

Oxford Book of Health Foods [Full Text]

Each entry provides information on a food's origins, the claims and myths associated with it, and the scientific evidence to support - or refute- these claims.

Oxford Business French Dictionary (French-English) [Full Text]

This dictionary offers comprehensive coverage of core business vocabulary from a wide range of fields, including accountancy, banking, economics, human resource management, law, sales and marketing, the stock market, management, taxation, insurance, and information technology.

Oxford Business Spanish Dictionary (Spanish-English) [Full Text]

This dictionary offers comprehensive coverage of core business vocabulary from a wide range of fields, including accountancy, banking, economics, human resource management, law, sales and marketing, the stock market, management, taxation, insurance, and information technology.

Oxford Classical Dictionary [Full Text]

This dictionary provides a comprehensive source of reference which aims to answer all questions about the classical world. It provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.

Oxford Companion to American Law [Full Text]

The volume assumes that American law, in all its richness and complexity, cannot be understood in isolation, as simply the business of the Supreme Court, or as a list of common law doctrines. Hence, the volume takes seriously issues involving laws role in structuring decisions about governance, the significance of state and local law and legal institutions, and the place of American law in a comparative international perspective.

Oxford Companion to American Literature [Full Text]

This volume offers over 2,000 biographical profiles of important American authors (with information regarding their style, subjects, and major works) and influential foreign writers as well as other figures who have been important in the nation's social and cultural history. There are more than 1,100 full summaries of important American novels, stories, essays, poems (with verse form noted), plays, biographies and autobiographies, tracts, narratives, and histories.

Oxford Companion to American Military History [Full Text]

This volume offers entries on relevant acts of Congress and on diplomatic policies such as the Monroe Doctrine and the Marshall Plan; on peace and antiwar movements; on war in film, literature, music, and photography; and on war viewed through the disciplinary lenses of anthropology, economics, gender studies, and psychology.

Pages

Search

Subject