Databases

Orchestral Music Online

Orchestral Music Online is the most recent iteration of David Daniels's classic repertoire reference work used by conductors, orchestras, musicians, and musicologists throughout the world. This new database version is based on the fourth edition of Orchestral Music: A Handbook (2005), and provides greater and easier access to more information on composers and works. Features monthly updates with new composers, new works, additional information, and corrections.

Oxford History of Western Music [Full Text]

Oxford History of Western Music online offers an unmatched account of the evolution of Western classical music by one of the most prominent and provocative musicologists of our time, Richard Taruskin.

Oxford Music Online / Grove Music Online

The Oxford Dictionary of Music includes the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Opera, and Jazz. These are fully searchable in combination with Larkin's Encyclopedia of Popular Music, the Oxford Companion to Music, and the Oxford Dictionary of Music. Updated quarterly.

Performing Arts Encyclopedia [Full Text]

An introduction to the remarkable performing arts collections and exhibitions at the Library of Congress, including links to digital resources.

Smithsonian Global Sound [Full Text]

Music, literature readings, natural and human-made sounds compose this audio archive with the ability to browse by musical instrument, geographic area, or cultural group, among other fields.

Pages

Search

Subject