Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) [Full Text]

Academic Search Complete includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.

American Indian Experience [Full Text]

The American Indian Experience (AIE) offers access to an online library, featuring more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images.

American Song [Full Text]

A history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. It has songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.

Arts and Humanities Through the Eras [Full Text]

Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music, and religion from a specific period, each volume in this five-volume set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. An overview of the period and a chronology of major world events begin each volume.

Classical Music Library [Full Text]

Recordings of classical music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera. [55,000+ tracks]

Contemporary World Music [Full Text]

Listen to the sounds of music from every continent. This resource contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology Online

Completed dissertations index in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology and other related musical disciplines.

Encyclopedia of Popular Music - Oxford Music Online [Full Text]

The online version of Colin Larkin's critically acclaimed 10-volume The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th Edition is available by annual subscription through Oxford Music Online. ##Featuring a broad musical scope covering popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to the present day, including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music, the Encyclopedia also offers thousands of additional entries covering popular music genres, trends, styles, record labels, venues, and music festivals. ##Key dates, biographies, and further reading are provided for artists covered, along with complete discographies that include record labels, release dates, and a 5-star album rating system.

Garland encyclopedia of world music online (Alexander Street Press)

The integrated online version features thousands of pages from the print edition authored by 700 international contributors along with associated audio tracks, musical illustrations, photographs, drawings, song texts, score examples, and charts and maps of world regions. Allows cross-cultural and comparative music research through controlled vocabulary indexing and other enhanced features.

Grove Dictionary of Music SEE Oxford Music Online [Full Text]

This is the standard dictionary for music and includes hundreds of carefully selected and classified links to musical sites around the world and a timetable of reviews.

Pages

Search

Subject