Databases

American National Biography (OUP) [Full Text]

Short Biographical sketches of over 18,300 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the United States. Contains thousands of illustrations, 80,000 hyperlinked cross-references, and links to select web sites. Updated quarterly

American West

The American West: Sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection, Newberry Library, Chicago; primary source material on Westward Expansion

Contemporary Authors (Gale)

Students and users will find biographical information on modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters in the award-winning Contemporary Authors series. ##Sketches typically include personal information, addresses, career history, writings, work in progress, biographical/critical sources and authors' comments and/or informative essays about their lives and work.

Dictionary of American Regional English [Full Text]

The Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE)—representing the full panoply of American regional vocabulary, from Adam’s housecat to Zydeco—has long been consulted by a wide range of scholars and lovers of language and regional nuance. This digital version transforms the dictionary into an interactive, multimedia tool that will greatly benefit both scholarly inquiry and general intellectual curiosity.

Fiction Core Collection (EBSCO)(H.W. Wilson)(XML)

The selective list presented in this collection features classic and contemporary works of fiction recommended for a general adult audience, written in or translated into English. The best authors and their most widely-read works in literary and popular fiction—old and new—are listed, including mysteries, science fiction, fantasy, Westerns and romance.####With more than 8,000 titles,Fiction Core Collection provides entries for individual novels, as well as analytic entries for novellas and novels contained in composite works.

Gale Literary Sources (GALE) [Full Text]

Gale Literary Sources integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing across various Gale literature products. Access points include authors and their works, literary movements and genres, with selected full-texts of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO)

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.

Humanities Int'l Index (EBSCO)

Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Formerly the American Humanities Index, this database contains bibliographic records from a multitude of U.S. and international journals, books and reference works. Humanities International Index provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.

JSTOR [Full Text]

JSTOR (www.jstor.org) is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. For complete lists of titles and collections, please refer to http://www.jstor.org/about/collection.list.html.

Literary Index (Gale)

Master index to the major literature products published by Gale Group, Inc. Cross references more than 135,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and 165,000 titles.

Pages

Search

Subject