Databases

Grove Art Online [Full Text]

Formerly known as The Dictionary of Art and The Grove Dictionary of Art, Grove Art Online is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of the visual arts, with 30,000 signed and peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 international scholars. Grove Art Online also includes access to The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.

Grove Art Online features entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as bibliographies for further research and thousands of searchable images made available through Oxford’s partnerships with museums, galleries, and other outstanding arts organizations.  Updated three times a year.

Grove Dictionary of Music SEE Oxford Music Online [Full Text]

This is the standard dictionary for music and includes hundreds of carefully selected and classified links to musical sites around the world and a timetable of reviews.

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers [Full Text]

Written for film students and film buffs alike, this set features thorough coverage of legendary films, actors, actresses, directors, writers, and other production artists through detailed essays and commentary by experts. Entries include biographies, filmographies, comprehensive credits, production information, major awards, and bibliographies.

Latino American Experience [Full Text]

The first-ever database dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos. The Latino American Experience includes over 200 volumes of reference and scholarly titles

Major 21st-Century Writers [Full Text]

Major 21st-Century Writers is a convenient source of detailed biographical, critical, and bibliographical information on authors who are studied in high schools and colleges today. More than one thousand entries on the most-outstanding and widely known writers from our classic reference series Contemporary Authors and Contemporary Authors New Revisions have been selected---and updated---for inclusion in this ebook.

Nonfiction Classics for Students [Full Text]

Provides in-depth literary and historical background on the most commonly studied nonfiction essays, books, biographies, and memoirs in a streamlined, easy-to-use format. Covering 15-20 works per volume, this reference series gives high-school and undergraduate students an ideal starting point for class assignments, term papers, and special projects.

Oxford companion to Black British history [Full Text]

Essential reading for anyone wishing to understand the long and fascinating history of black people in the British Isles, The Oxford Companion to Black British History explores the subject from its beginnings in Roman times to the present day.

Oxford companion to Irish history [Full Text]

In a field that has long been at the epicentre of political and academic debate, The Oxford Companion to Irish History offers a comprehensive and authoritative guide to all aspects of this fascinating and complex land.

Oxford companion to Scottish history [Full Text]

Oxford Companion to Scottish History aims to cover more than 20 centuries of history, and interpret history broadly, covering areas such as archaeology, climate, culture, languages, immigration, migration, and emigration.

Oxford dictionary of American quotations [Full Text]

With nearly 6,000 quotations, this volume offers a stimulating picture of American culture and life. Up-to-date and thoroughly researched, the Dictionary covers more than five hundred topics, giving readers a nutshell history of what great (and not-so-great) Americans had to say about each one.

Pages