Databases

African American Experience [Full Text]

African American Experience isa wide ranging online collection of material on African American life, drawing on information from 300 titles covering all aspects of the African American experience.

American Indian Experience [Full Text]

The American Indian Experience (AIE) offers access to an online library, featuring more than 150 volumes of scholarship and reference content, hundreds of primary documents, and thousands of images.

Arts and Humanities Through the Eras [Full Text]

Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music, and religion from a specific period, each volume in this five-volume set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. An overview of the period and a chronology of major world events begin each volume.

Australian Oxford Dictionary [Full Text]

This dictionary is an authoritative guide to contemporary Australian English and includes 1,000,000 words, compounds, and derivatives; 12,500 encyclopedic entries.

Contemporary Fashion [Full Text]

A reference book covering individual designers and fashion houses that have been active throughout the 20th and 21st centuries. Informative essays mirror the many facets of the fashion world.

Dictionary of American Regional English [Full Text]

The Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE)—representing the full panoply of American regional vocabulary, from Adam’s housecat to Zydeco—has long been consulted by a wide range of scholars and lovers of language and regional nuance. This digital version transforms the dictionary into an interactive, multimedia tool that will greatly benefit both scholarly inquiry and general intellectual curiosity.

Encyclopedia of American Religions, 7th ed. [Full Text]

Contains general essays that historically trace the major religious families and traditions, as well as directory listings that include contact and descriptive information on individual churches, religious bodies, and spiritual groups.

Encyclopedia of Religion [Full Text]

The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.

Feminism in Literature: A Gale Critical Companion [Full Text]

This six-volume set explores the history of women and feminism throughout literature, from classical antiquity to modern times. Topics covered include misogyny and women's social roles in ancient civilizations, 16th-century women's devotional literature, 17th- and 18th-century women's captivity narratives, the women's suffrage movement in 19th-century America, women writers of the "Lost Generation," lesbian literature, modern feminist theory, criticism and scholarship and much more.

Garland encyclopedia of world music online (Alexander Street Press)

The integrated online version features thousands of pages from the print edition authored by 700 international contributors along with associated audio tracks, musical illustrations, photographs, drawings, song texts, score examples, and charts and maps of world regions. Allows cross-cultural and comparative music research through controlled vocabulary indexing and other enhanced features.

Pages