Databases

AAS Historical Periodicals Collection (American Antiquarian Society/EBSCO)

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection provides digital access to a comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.  Subject coverage includes: advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.  Produced by a partnership between EBSCO and the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).

Dates of Coverage: 
1684-1912

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) [Full Text]

Academic Search Complete includes full text for 1800 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.

Art Index (EBSCO)(H.W.Wilson)(XML)

Offers abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.

ARTBibliographies Modern (Proquest)

Provides references and abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Subjects cover all forms art Entries date back as far as the late 1960s

Arts and Humanities Through the Eras [Full Text]

Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music, and religion from a specific period, each volume in this five-volume set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. An overview of the period and a chronology of major world events begin each volume.

Grove Art Online [Full Text]

Formerly known as The Dictionary of Art and The Grove Dictionary of Art, Grove Art Online is the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of the visual arts, with 30,000 signed and peer-reviewed articles contributed by nearly 7,000 international scholars. Grove Art Online also includes access to The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2nd edition), and The Oxford Companion to Western Art.

Grove Art Online features entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, patrons, movements, locations, and periods, as well as bibliographies for further research and thousands of searchable images made available through Oxford’s partnerships with museums, galleries, and other outstanding arts organizations.  Updated three times a year.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO)

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.

Humanities Int'l Index (EBSCO)

Humanities International Index is a comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Formerly the American Humanities Index, this database contains bibliographic records from a multitude of U.S. and international journals, books and reference works. Humanities International Index provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.

International Bibliography of Art (Proquest)

International Bibliography of Art provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship in European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, architecture, material culture, and global art since 1945 in a variety of media and formats

Iter (UToronto)

A bibliography of approximately 225,000 records from the complete runs of more than 400 scholarly journal titles pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).

Dates of Coverage: 
400-1700

Pages

Search

Subject