Databases

New York Times (1851 - 2006) (ProQuest) [Full Text]

The New York Times (1851-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. ##The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Northwest History Database (WSU) [Full Text]

A selected set of over 10,100 images from the Pacific Northwest Newspaper Clippings Collection describing a period of rapid growth and development in the history of the Pacific Northwest, including emerging labor unions and the development of dams and canals.

Oxford English Dictionary (OED [Full Text]

Provides definition, pronunciation, word origins, quotes using the word, and date chart showing when the word came into use.

Project Muse (Project Muse) [Full Text]

90 full-text electronic journals focusing on the humanities. Electronic version available earlier than print edition

ProQuest Global Newsstream [Full Text]

Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires. Date coverage varies. Formerly Proquest Newsstand.

Dates of Coverage: 
Coverage varies

Pullman Herald Index (WSU)

Index to the Pullman Herald, 1888-1929.

Dates of Coverage: 
1888-1929

Readers' Guide SEE MasterFILE Premier (EBSCO) [Full Text]

Gain access to information on a broad range of topics including general interest, business, health and multi-cultural with MasterFILE Premier™. This vast database includes: ## ##Searchable full text for over 1,860 journals, including Consumer Reports and Business Week. ## ##Full text dating as far back as January 1990 ##abstracts and indexing for over 2,800 journals, many dating back to 1984. ## ##Charts, tables and graphs converted to ASCII text ##searchable full text for nearly 5,000 Magill’s Book Reviews. ## ##Essential Documents in American History—a database of over 1,000 original historical documents including The Bill of Rights, The Constitution, The Federalist Papers and the speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. ##coverage of The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal.

Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO) (H.W. Wilson)(XML)

Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Covers periodicals published between 1890 and 1982.

Smithsonian Global Sound [Full Text]

Music, literature readings, natural and human-made sounds compose this audio archive with the ability to browse by musical instrument, geographic area, or cultural group, among other fields.

The Times (London, England) Digital Archive 1785-1985 (Gale)

The Times Digital Archive provides convenient access to an extraordinary library of back issues of this renowned newspaper online. ##By taking the microfilm collection of The Times (London) and producing a high-resolution digital format with searchable images, The Times Digital Archive represents unprecedented access to one of the most highly regarded resources for the study of 18th century history and onward.

Pages

Search

Subject