Databases

AAS Historical Periodicals Collection (American Antiquarian Society/EBSCO)

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection provides digital access to a comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.  Subject coverage includes: advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.  Produced by a partnership between EBSCO and the American Antiquarian Society (AAS).

Dates of Coverage: 
1684-1912

America: History & Life (EBSCO)

Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Contains citations and abstracts to journal aritcles, books reviews and dissertations published from 1954-present.

Dates of Coverage: 
1954-present

ArchiveGrid (OCLC) [Full Text]

Directory database providing access to nearly 1 million archive records and finding aids.

Early English Books Online - EEBO (PQ) [Full Text]

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

Early Washington Maps (WSU) [Full Text]

About 625 historic maps with links to high-resolution MrSID files; built in collaboration with WSU Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections and the University of Washington Libraries.

Ethnic NewsWatch and ENW: A History (PQ) [Full Text]

An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses. Articles date from 1960 to the present.

Dates of Coverage: 
1960-present

Gale Primary Sources [Full Text]

Gale Primary Sources is a unified search system for these Gale primary source databases: Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2011, Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010, Making of the Modern World, Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers, and Times Digital Archive.  Provides content discovery, term clustering, and term frequency tools

Gutenberg (CUP) [Full Text]

Small number of electronic books in history. Collaborative effort between Columbia University Press and the American Historical Association.

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)

Historical Abstracts contains citations and abstracts to publications covering the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Publications indexed were published from 1954 to the present.

Dates of Coverage: 
1450-present

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (EBSCO)

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.

Pages

Search

Subject