Databases

Data Citation Index

Access an array of data across subjects and regions, providing a comprehensive picture of research output to understand data in context and maximize research efforts. The Data Citation Index on the Web of Science provides a single point of access to quality research data from repositories across disciplines and around the world. Through linked content and summary information, this data is displayed within the broader context of the scholarly research, enabling users to gain perspective that is lost when data sets or repositories are viewed in isolation. These connections allow researchers to efficiently access to an array of data across subjects and regions, providing a comprehensive picture of research output, to maximize research efforts and accurately assess importance

Derwent Innovations Index

Derwent Innovations Index® facilitates rapid, precise patent searching, letting you conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering. This resource merges the value-added patent information from Derwent World Patents Index® with the patent citation information from Derwent Patent Citation Index®. You can use additional descriptive information and coding to quickly grasp a patent's significance and its relationship to other patents. Reduce duplication of R&D; track competitors' activities; detect and avoid patent infringement; identify potential gaps in the marketplace and possible licensing opportunities.

Dates of Coverage: 
1963-

Dictionary of Astronomy [Full Text]

This dictionary encompasses up-to-date entries on space missions and recently named Solar System onjects, international coverage of telescopes and observatories and biographical entries on eminent astronomers from Copernicus to Edwin Hubble

Dictionary of Biology [Full Text]

This dictionary includes biographies of key scientists, it provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, as well as key terms from medicine and palaeontology.

Dictionary of Chemistry [Full Text]

This dictionary covers all the commonly encountered terms in chemistry, including physical chemistry and biochemistry. Clear and concise coverage of laboratory techniques, chemical engineering, and environmental matters.

Dictionary of Earth Sciences [Full Text]

This dictionary includes coverage of topics including climatology, economic geology, geochemistry, oceanography, palaeontology, petrology, volcanology, planetary science, remote sensing, statistics, and sequence stratigraphy, wind strength scales, material, temporal, and chronostratigraphic units, geologic, lunar, and Martian time scales.

Dictionary of Ecology [Full Text]

This dictionary entries on all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography. Coverage is wide-ranging and includes plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, pollution, conservation, habitat management, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology and meteorology.

Dictionary of Environment and Conservation [Full Text]

This informative dictionary contains over 8,500 entries on all aspects of environmental science and conservation. Social as well as scientific in focus, it provides comprehensive coverage of the social aspect of environmental science (including treaties, organisations, and agencies relating to the environment) and ecology, as well as biographies of key figures in the field.

Dictionary of Genetics [Full Text]

This new edition of A Dictionary of Genetics addresses the needs of students, educators, and clinical geneticists for an authoritative and up-to-date reference work that not only defines the latest terms but also presents important ancillary encyclopedic information. The dictionary includes terms from a wide range of disciplines which entwine with genetics, including molecular biology, cell biology, medicine, botany, and evolutionary studies.

Dictionary of Physics [Full Text]

This dictionary contains over 3,700 clear and concise entries, covering all commonly encountered physics terms and concepts, including terms relating to astronomy, astrophysics, and physical chemistry.

Pages

Search

Subject