Databases

Encyclopedia of mammals [Full Text]

The Encyclopedia of Mammals has been comprehensively revised and updated to reflect the most recent developments in modern zoology. It covers the behaviour, diet, distribution, and evolution of every known living mammal in the world in clear, accessible language, and is superbly illustrated throughout with photographs and original artwork.

Encyclopedia of Virtual Communities and Technologies [Full Text]

This encyclopedia provides coverage of the concepts and realities in the field of virtual communities and technologies. It also offers coverage of upcoming and emerging technologies for virtual communities, human computer interfaces, new networking, mobile computing, Web services, and synchronous and asynchronous environments.

Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders [Full Text]

Provides clear, complete information on genetic disorders, including conditions, tests, procedures, treatments and therapies, in articles that are both comprehensive and easy to understand in language accessible to laypersons.

Dates of Coverage: 
2nd ed., 2005

Handbooks - Protocols (Qiagen) [Full Text]

Provides researchers with comprehensive collection of links to three areas of full text bioscience research protocols namely cell biology, molecular biology, immunology. Current and retrospective coverage.

Dates of Coverage: 
current and some retrospective

Oxford Companion to Body [Full Text]

This volume provides concise and readable accounts of the structure and function of all the major systems of the body and the causes of disorders that affect them. Interwoven with this coverage of the science of the body, are entertaining and informative articles on social and religious attitudes to the body, and its significance for artists, philosophers and writers.

Oxford Companion to Ships and the Sea [Full Text]

It covers every aspect of the seas and the vessels that sail on them, from shipbuilding, yachting, diving, and marine mammals, to tidal power, piracy, and the literature and language of the sea.

Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science [Full Text]

This resource presents an unparalleled history of the field invaluable to anyone with an interest in the technology, ideas, discoveries, and learned institutions that have shaped our world over the past five centuries. Focusing on the period from the Renaissance to the early twenty-first century, the articles cover all disciplines, historical periods, concepts, and methodologies and philosophies.

Oxford dictionary of scientific quotations [Full Text]

The original words announcing great scientific discoveries, from the first ‘Eureka! ’ to the cloning of Dolly the sheep, can all be found in this dictionary. Put together over 15 years with the assistance of a distinguished team of specialist advisers, it includes full author descriptions and exact sources. Scholarly but accessible, it presents the human face of science, as scientists reflect on achievements and failures in their own lives and those of others.

ProtocolOnline [Full Text]

Database of research protocols in a variety of life science fields. Contains protocols and links to web protocols hosted by worldwide research labs, biotech companies, personal web sites.

Dates of Coverage: 
Current

Science, technology, and society [Full Text]

Science, Technology, and Society contains over 130 A to Z signed articles written by major scholars and experts from academic and scientific institutions and institutes worldwide. It emphasizes an interdisciplinary and international coverage of the functions and effects of science and technology in society and culture. Each article is accompanied by a selected bibliography.

Pages

Search

Subject