Databases

Alaska and Polar Periodical Index

Index includes articles in English about Alaska, northern Canada, northern Scandinavia, the Russian Far East, and Antarctica. It does not contain the text of those articles. More than 150,000 articles are included, with 5,000 added each year; most articles are not in any other index. Coverage goes back to early 1900's, but is strongest from the 1980s to the present.

Dates of Coverage: 
1900-

BIOSIS Citation Index (BCI)

The most comprehensive biological sciences research index, including the most important discoveries, significant influences and relevant connections. The new BIOSIS Citation Index combines the unique BIOSIS content that is critical to life sciences research with powerful citation indexing provided by Web of Science™.

Dates of Coverage: 
1926 to present

BSBI database [Full Text]

British Botanical databases. The taxon database provides information on literature between 1958 and 1998, including all the references published in the BSBI's Abstracts fromLiterature and BSBI Abstract. The cytology database contains chromosome counts based on wild material from the British Isles.

Dates of Coverage: 
1958-1998

Dictionary of Ecology [Full Text]

This dictionary entries on all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography. Coverage is wide-ranging and includes plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, pollution, conservation, habitat management, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology and meteorology.

Encyclopedia of Global Change : environmental change and human society [Full Text]

Encompassing tsunamis, elephant conservation, ocean pollution, mining regulation, and permafrost melt, the 300 authoritative articles in this unique and wide-ranging encyclopedia investigate all types of phenomena that change life on Earth. The entries cover a range of general research categories: altered ecosystems, climate change, food and water supply, population, politics and global change, institutions and policies, biographies, and case studies.

Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide(EBSCO)

Citations to the world literature dealing with fish and fish culture and all aspects of ichtyology and fisheries. Updated quarterly

Dates of Coverage: 
1971 - present

Fishbase [Full Text]

Handbook of the world's fish species with information on 24,200 species, 43,000 synonyms, 93,000 common names, and 20,000 pictures. Searchable by common names and scientific names and includes over 19,000 references to the research literature on fish.

High North Research Documents [Full Text]

High North Research Documents is a searchable database for freely available (open access) research documents within the thematic scope of the circumpolar high north, covering all subject areas.

Kanopy Streaming Video

Kanopy has more than 26,000 films covering a broad range of subject areas, including documentaries, training films and feature films.

National Academies Press Ebooks (NAP) [Full Text]

A searchable, multidisciplinary collection of Electronic Books published by the National Academies Press.

Pages

Search

Subject