Databases

Dictionary of Contemporary World History [Full Text]

This dictionary provides in-depth coverage of the major historical figures and events from 1900 to the present day. Extensive surveys of every country are included with detailed analytical entries covering political and military leaders, political parties, international organizations, and acts of war.

Dictionary of Earth Sciences [Full Text]

This dictionary includes coverage of topics including climatology, economic geology, geochemistry, oceanography, palaeontology, petrology, volcanology, planetary science, remote sensing, statistics, and sequence stratigraphy, wind strength scales, material, temporal, and chronostratigraphic units, geologic, lunar, and Martian time scales.

Dictionary of Ecology [Full Text]

This dictionary entries on all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography. Coverage is wide-ranging and includes plant and animal physiology, animal behaviour, pollution, conservation, habitat management, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology and meteorology.

Dictionary of Economics [Full Text]

This dictionary provides clear, jargon-free definitions for thousands of economic terms, including up-to-date entries on topics such as e-commerce and the Euro. It covers all aspects of economic theory, from microeconomics to public finance and international trade with definitions of mathematical and statistical terms widely used in economics, business and finance.

Dictionary of English Folklore [Full Text]

The dictionary gives entertaining and informative explanations of a wide range of subjects in folklore and includes articles on oral and performance genres such as cheese rolling, morris dancing, and rushbearing, superstitions such as crossing fingers and wishbones, beliefs like fairy rings and frog showers, and calendar customs from April Fool's Day to St. Valentine's Day.

Dictionary of Environment and Conservation [Full Text]

This informative dictionary contains over 8,500 entries on all aspects of environmental science and conservation. Social as well as scientific in focus, it provides comprehensive coverage of the social aspect of environmental science (including treaties, organisations, and agencies relating to the environment) and ecology, as well as biographies of key figures in the field.

Dictionary of Finance and Banking [Full Text]

This dictionary contains entries on every aspect of the financial world: insurance, stocks and shares, commodities, takeovers and mergers, international trade, and government finance.

Dictionary of First Names [Full Text]

This comprehensive dictionary provides a fascinating collection of linguistic, historical, and associated information about some 7,000 names, making it ideal reference for linguists and family historians.

Dictionary of Food and Nutrition [Full Text]

This dictionary is intended for anyone who enjoys food and would like a handy, non-technical guide to the terms they encounter on food labels, in advertising, or in the media. It is a reference guide for the fields of catering, home economics, food technology, food science, nutrition, and health care.

Dictionary of Genetics [Full Text]

This new edition of A Dictionary of Genetics addresses the needs of students, educators, and clinical geneticists for an authoritative and up-to-date reference work that not only defines the latest terms but also presents important ancillary encyclopedic information. The dictionary includes terms from a wide range of disciplines which entwine with genetics, including molecular biology, cell biology, medicine, botany, and evolutionary studies.

Pages

Search

Subject