Databases

Dictionary of accounting [Full Text]

This dictionary provides straightforward definitions of the latest financial jargon along with comprehensive coverage of financial accounting, financial reporting, management accounting, direct and indirect taxation, corporate finance, and auditing. Coverage is international, and includes worked examples of difficult concepts and feature entries on key topics.

Dictionary of African Mythology [Full Text]

This collection of fascinating, mysterious, and revealing tales captures the immense sweep and diversity of African mythology. The stories touch on virtually every aspect of belief: gods and goddesses, epic heroes and divine tricksters, along with epics of the world's origins, the struggle between the human and the divine, and much more. Entries cover the entire continent, from the mouth of the Nile to the Cape of Good Hope.

Dictionary of American Regional English [Full Text]

The Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE)—representing the full panoply of American regional vocabulary, from Adam’s housecat to Zydeco—has long been consulted by a wide range of scholars and lovers of language and regional nuance. This digital version transforms the dictionary into an interactive, multimedia tool that will greatly benefit both scholarly inquiry and general intellectual curiosity.

Dictionary of animal behaviour [Full Text]

This dictionary covers every aspect of animal behaviour and includes terms from the related fields of ecology, physiology and psychology. It includes specific examples where appropriate, covering all aspects of behaviour from aggression to courtship.

Dictionary of Architecture [Full Text]

This dictionary has entries on architects, terms, periods, and styles, covering all periods of Western architectural history. It has definitions of landscape terms, and biographies of modern architects.

Dictionary of Asian Mythology [Full Text]

This dictionary features stories of revered deities, sacred places, key events and epics, with many recurring themes and traditions. Entries address the key mythologies of the regions we now call India, China, Tibet, Central Asia, Southeast Asia, and Japan, and broad overviews of specific cultures and their mythic traditions round out the coverage.

Dictionary of Astronomy [Full Text]

This dictionary encompasses up-to-date entries on space missions and recently named Solar System onjects, international coverage of telescopes and observatories and biographical entries on eminent astronomers from Copernicus to Edwin Hubble

Dictionary of Biology [Full Text]

This dictionary includes biographies of key scientists, it provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, as well as key terms from medicine and palaeontology.

Dictionary of British History [Full Text]

This dictionary is an invaluable compact reference work on all aspects of the history of Britain from 55 BC to the present day. The variety of entries provides a wealth of essential information touching all aspects of British history: political, economic, social, military, people, events, and institutions.

Dictionary of British Place-Names [Full Text]

This dictionary gives the meaning and origin of place names in the British Isles, tracing their development from earliest times to the present day.

Pages

Search

Subject